Travelers coming from 4 additional countries will be quarantined

After Beijing ordered that all inbound international travelers to be quarantined upon arrival at the citys airport, Shanghai has also tightened up its own protocols.
While city officials have stopped short of ordering everyone coming in from abroad into quarantine, they have expanded their list of countries badly hit by the coronavirus from four to eight, adding France, Germany, Spain, and the United States alongside South Korea, Japan, Italy, and Iran.
Anyone who has been in one of these countries in the 14 days prior to their arrival in Shanghai must undergo a 14-day quarantine, either at their home or in designated hotels for observation.

The update comes as China has shifted its focus from coronavirus cases inside the country to those arriving from abroad.

Shanghai confirmed two new imported cases of the virus on Friday morning.
One was a Zhejiang native who flew into the Pudong airport on Wednesday from Bologna via Moscow. He showed symptoms upon arrival and was immediately transferred over to a hospital.
The other was a man from Guangdong province who flew in on Tuesday from New York via Hong Kong. He passed medical screenings and was only taken to the hospital when he started showing symptoms on Wednesday.


Subscribe by Email

Follow Updates Articles from This Blog via Email

No Comments